Tags

,

I’ve always been mesmerized by the beauty of Pavlova and I always thought it’s that easy to make. Proven wrong on my first trial. True it’s only meringue, but it’s not just a meringue! It’s meringue with a crispy skin and marshmallow-y filling. Now that is hard to achieve especially with my cheap brand 3 year old oven :D

But rien n’est impossible. Nothing is impossible.

I gotta say there’s no rocket science to achieve the perfect pavlova, it only takes trials and errors. I made it for a good friend’s birthday yesterday. I thought they’re only patronizing me when they said it’s nice, until I saw people started eating it straight from the table before it’s finished being cut. Aha!

Pavlova

  • 6 egg whites – properly separated
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  1. Preheat oven at 200˚C
  2. Before you start making your meringue, make sure that your mixing bowl is clean and dry without any grease or anything on it. This is crucial.
  3. Separate all the whites into the bowl and set aside the sugar.
  4. Beat the egg whites till it gets foamy – about 1 minute
  5. Slowly put in the sugar, you can do it tbsp by tbsp. And keep beating till it reaches stiff peak and turns out white and glossy.
  6. Shape it on your greased pan and pop it into the oven. Decrease the temperature to 150˚ C and bake it for about 1-1.5 hours (depending on your oven, really). For me, I would have to play with the temp 3 times throughout the process.
Passionfruit syrup
  • 100gr passion fruit flesh
  • 2 tbsp sugar (or up to ur taste)
  • 20gr water
  • drops of lemon
Combine all ingredients and bring to a boil. You need to stir occasionally and leave it to cool.
For topping, put some whipped cream and decorate with the traditional toppings, aka strawberry, kiwi and the passionfruit syrup. Decorate only before you start serving it.
Et voila!
