Tags

,

I never tasted any oatmeal raisin cookies before in my entire life. There, I said it.

Western cookies isn’t something that’s familiar for us in Asia. I think the best cookies we’ve ever had is the ones from Subway the sandwich chain. Yes. Albeit the fact that it guarantees us diabetes. So yeah, I was rather skeptical about making this recipe at first. How good could it be, seriously? The only oatmeal cookies I’ve ever tasted in my life was the one my mom makes during Chinese New Year. Those were little pieces of goodness, very crunchy, buttery and of course, it’s good.

The best part of all about this cookie is, you can have it as your breakfast sans the guilt. Take 3 pieces and it grants you a full stomach till late morning. I kept having them like nobody’s business, thinking “but it’s oatmeal…”. It’s not, really. Cookies are still cookies. Sinful is the title. Anyhoo…



Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (yields about 16 medium size cookies)

  • 113gr unsalted butter
  • 2/3cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2tsp baking soda
  • 3/4tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2tsp clove
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1 1/2cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup raisins – i like mine whole. some prefer them chopped.
  1. Beat the butter, brown sugar for half a minute till smooth.
  2. Slowly beat in the egg followed by vanilla extract.
  3. Whisk all the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, cinnamon, clove, salt)
  4. Mix the dry ingredients into the butter mixture at low speed till they come together well
  5. Pour in the oatmeals and use your spatula to fold it
  6. Lastly throw in the raisins.
  7. Make them into dough balls and chill them for half an hour or so
  8. Flatten them with center part thicker than the sides, and quickly throw them into the oven at 175˚ Celcius for 15 minutes or until it becomes brown. I like the center part chewy. If you like them crispier, go for more than 15 mins.
