Tags

, ,

Turning 30 is a huge milestone for most people. I wouldn’t deny the fact that I’ll experience that same emotional journey too when I’m close to that number in x years to come. To celebrate one of my coworkers’ 30th birthday, I decided to whip up this Japanese cheesecake, ‘cos she’s a Japanese too 🙂 Decoration was made into a cheerful look with lots of hundreds and thousands just to make the ‘turning 30’ sounds less… stressful and more… playful.

This recipe has been a winner for a long time, I’ve baked it millions of times. Though some people find it too crumbly, others find this just perfect, moist, etc… Why don’t you bake it and tell me how it turns out?

Japanese cheesecake (9″ round pan)
  • 140gr granulated sugar
  • 6 eggs (separated)
  • 55gr butter
  • 90ml milk
  • 250gr cream cheese
  • 2tsp lemon juice
  • 60gr cake flour
  • 20gr corn flour
  • Pinch of salt
  1. Preheat oven at 150 Celcius
  2. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk bain marie and let it cool.
  3. Fold in the flour, cornflour, egg yolks, lemon juice and mix well
  4. Whisk the egg whites until foamy and slowly stream in the sugar and beat it until reaches stiff peak
  5. Add the cheese mixture into egg white mixture and lightly fold it.
  6. Pour the batter into the greased cake pan and bake in water bath for 1 hour, or until the toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Enjoy!
