Tags

,

Do you know that being able to make a good marshmallow is a pride for a .. ehm… pastry chef? Actually I hate calling myself a pastry chef because I’m not one and still very far from being one. But since I’m the only one operating my kitchen, I *have to* be one (yucks).

Okay move on.

Marshmallow. Me gusta! Bring me to any buffet restaurant, the moment i see a chocolate fountain, I know I will have to monopolize that station forever and ever with sticks of marshmallows prepared on my table even before I start picking my hors d’oeuvres. Hm, yeah. *sheepish*

Right one year ago at the restaurant I worked at in Singapore, we’re suddenly told to make marshmallow from scratch. With 100% natural ingredients. Excited much? That means no corn syrup too! Only at that moment I knew that we could actually make marshmallow. And it isn’t hard at all really. You only need to have a proper candy thermometer with you.

The recipe that I’m giving below of course has the corn syrup in it. Don’t be stupid. Why would you waste your time longer to indulge in your homemade marshmallow when you could just easily grab a very cheap bottle of corn syrup off the shelves? Besides, nobody cares. It’s not as if you bought a ready made Betty Crocker packed flours.

Raspberry Marshmallow (good for 9″ x 11″ x 1″ pan – about 32 pieces)

– adapted from joythebaker’s recipe

  • 1 cup icy cold water (divided into 1/2 + 1/2)
  • 90gr gelatin
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 cup corn syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp raspberry extract
  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  1. First of all, mix corn flour + powdered sugar inside one container. This is the key to avoid sticky wet marshmallow and also the key that makes marshmallow as what you see in supermarkets.
  2. Grease your pan + coat with corn flour mixture all around.
  3. Mix 1/2 cup of cold water + gelatin in your mixing bowl and let rest for 5-10 mins.
  4. Bring sugar, honey, corn syrup to a boil until 240˚ F
  5. Slowly stream in the sugar mixture into gelatin mixture and start your mixer at low speed.
  6. After all of the sugar mixture has gone into the bowl, speed up your mixer and pour in the vanilla + raspberry extracts.
  7. Keep beating until it forms fluffy thick batter that’s almost similar to the texture of marshmallow.
  8. Pour into the pan and if you’d like to create some ‘painting’ on it like mine, drop some food coloring and using toothpick start painting.
  9. Let rest for min. 24 hours. Before you start shaping/cutting them, top it with the cornstarch mixture again and then start cutting.
  10. And… enjoy!

